Ashes of Difficult Patterns!

TGD097_Ashes600

TGD097 – Ashes (of difficult patterns)

I decided to take a break from my usual designs and create something fun and different!

Creating a cross stitch project by following a pattern can be a lot of fun if all is going smoothly. But I am sure we’ve all experienced frustration over a difficult pattern at one time or another.

Some of my longest undertakings took several years to complete (stitching on and off!) And, yes, I have another multi-year undertaking hogging one of my scrolls right now! I needed something fun and quick to stitch for my well being.

So, I designed “Ashes (of Difficult Patterns)”! This design uses full cross stitches with a delightful set of over-dyed colors from The Gentle Art threads. The color variations are subtle with these threads, so you get a lot of depth in your work without using too many shades of one color. In this design, I also used long stitches to outline the urn. The background fabric “Twilight Mist” is a beautifully hand dyed fabric available from Wichelt Imports, Inc. I left a lot of open spaces in my design to display this fabric which adds such a nice dimension to the finished work!Stitch count is 64 x 115.

You can find more info on this and other designs at my website http://www.tgdcharts.com

Until next time, happy stitching!

About TG & D

Computer Scientist, Needlework and Beadwork Designer at Turquoise Graphics & Designs.
This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designs, Floral, Ornamental, Decorative and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.